International Workshop on Parallel and Distributed Multimedia Computing (ParDMCom-06)


For the last decades Multimedia computing has emerged as an important technology to generate content based on images, video, audio, graphics, and text. Furthermore, the recent new development represented by High Definition and Interactive television will generate important computing problems connected with the creation, processing and management of Multimedia content. Dealing with HD Multimedia content (image, video and sound) will generate a huge volume of data to process which can lead in a natural way to parallel and distributed computing. Moreover, the inherent data parallelism of Multimedia content data makes this type of computing a natural application area for parallel and distributed processing.

This workshop aims to merge the recent research achievements in developing new theories, algorithms, architectures, systems and integrated multimedia platforms that exploit parallel and distributed computing.

TOPICS OF INTEREST (but not limited to the following):

- parallel and distributed algorithms for multimedia.
- parallel and distributed architectures for multimedia.
- parallel multimedia computing servers.
- multimedia content creation, processing, and management using parallel and distributed architectures.
- parallel processing architectures of multimedia set-top boxes.
- multimedia agent technology and parallel processing.


Submission Deadline: August 1, 2006
Notification: Sep 1, 2006
Final Copy Due: Sep 20, 2006


Steering Chairs:

Laurence T. Yang, St Francis Xavier University, Canada
Jianhua Ma, Hosei University, Japan

General Chairs:

Shu-Ching Chen, Florida International University, USA
Hui-Huang Hsu, Tamkang University, Taiwan

Program Chairs:

Sabin Tabirca, National University of Ireland at Cork, Ireland
Agustinus Borgy Waluyo, Monash University, Australia


Prepare your paper with free styles not more than 15 pages in PDF file. Submit your paper(s) at the ParDMCom-06 web site:


Accepted papers will be published by IEEE CS or LNCS, Springer. Authors of accepted papers, or at least one of them, are requested to register and present their work at the conference, otherwise their papers will be removed from the digital library after the conference.

Distinguished papers, after further revisions, will be considered for a journal special issue.


Alex Zhaoyu Liu, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
Bernady O. Apduhan, Kyushu Sangyo University, Japan
Chengcui Zhang, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
Chi Zhang, Florida International University, USA
Guojun Wang, Central South University, China
Hongli Luo, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne, USA
Hsuan T. Chang, National Yunlin University of Science and Technology, Taiwan
Ismail Khalil Ibrahim, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
James Joshi, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Jason C. Hung, Northern Taiwan Institute of Science and Technology, Taiwan
Lawrence Y. Deng, St. John's University, Taiwan
Ling Tan, Monash University, Australia
Marios C. Angelides, Brunel University, UK
Mei-Ling Shyu, University of Miami, USA
Michael Ditze, University of Paderborn, Germany
Qing Li, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
Qun Jin, Waseda University, Japan
Vishv Malhotra, University of Tasmania, Australia
Xiaochuan Yi, AT&T, USA
Xubin He, Tennessee Technological University, USA
Wenbin Jiang, Huazhong University of Science & Technology, China
Zhiwen Yu, Nagoya University, Japan
Zhiyong Xu, Suffolk University, USA
John O'Mullane, National University of Ireland, Cork, Ireland
Dorin Bocu, Transilvania University of Brasov, Romania
Paul McKevitt, Ulster University, UK
Hong-Va Leong, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong